Monterey County Fire Training Officers Association logo

Monterey County Fire Chiefs Association

Annual Awards

Since 1982, the Monterey County Fire Chiefs Association presents annual awards to persons who have distinguished themselves among their peers and to their organization as individuals who have gone above and beyond the call. These persons have demonstrated skills, character, and achievements that deserve special recognition.  To honor and recognize these individuals, the Monterey County Fire Chiefs Association hosts a special awards ceremony in their honor.  Awards are presented in three categories: Career Firefighter of the Year, Volunteer Firefighter of the Year, and Support Person of the Year.

Previous Award Winners:

Career Firefighter of the Year

Volunteer Firefighter of the Year

Support Person of the Year


The Monterey County Fire Chiefs Association is proud and honored to recognize the following award recipients for 2021:


Career Firefighter of the Year:    Jesus Raminez – Salinas Fire Department

Volunteer Firefighter of the Year:    Michael Weisfuss – Seaside Fire Department

Support Person of the Year:    Kristonee Wade – Monterey Fire Department





MCFCA 2021 Career Firefighter of the Year: Jesus Ramirez, Salinas Fire Department




2021 MCFCA Support Person of the Year, Kristonee Wade from the Monterey Fire Department.